Home World News Somaliland elections: Opposition parties win majority of seats | News

Somaliland elections: Opposition parties win majority of seats | News

Two opposition parties in the breakaway region of Somalia have declared a political alliance, securing a majority in parliament.

Two opposition parties in the breakaway Somaliland region of Somalia won a majority of seats in the region’s first parliamentary elections in 16 years, according to the National Election Commission.

Of the 82 seats in parliament, the Somaliland National Party, known as Waddani, won 31 and the Justice and Welfare Party (UCID), won 21. The ruling Peace, Unity and Development Party, Kulmiye, won 30 seats, the election commission said on Sunday.

The vote, which had been stalled for a decade due to a dispute between the three major parties over the structure of the electoral commission, was finally resolved.

“After the announcement of the election results, we announced a political coalition to get the speaker of the Somaliland parliament,” Waddani and UCID said in a joint statement, suggesting they would appoint a speaker. fake together.

The parties, which jointly won a majority of seats in city-level races, say they aim to work together on city councils across the region and jointly choose mayors.

None of the 13 women running for parliament won their race.

‘Relative Stability’

Politicians in the region have described the poll as an example of the relative stability of Somaliland, which broke away from Somalia in 1991 but is not widely recognized internationally for its independence. .

The region is mostly peaceful while Somalia grapples with three decades of civil war.

The three main parties put forward a total of 246 candidates. More than one million of the roughly four million residents are registered to vote, according to the election commission.

Presidential elections have taken place in Somaliland, despite a stalled parliamentary vote, most recently in 2017 when President Muse Bihi, from the Kulmiye party, was elected. The next presidential vote is scheduled for next year.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular

Recent Comments